Sea Shell Searchers Shell Show 2024 Trophy and Award List

Special Sea Shell Searchers Shell Show Trophy

Wayne Humbird Memorial Award for the Best of the Best: Sponsored by Linda and Dave Green exclusively for the Sea Shell Searchers Shell Show. To be awarded to a scientific exhibit of mollusks that demonstrate excellence in malacology and conchology and has won a major award at any shell show including the current Sea Shell Searchers Shell Show. Major awards for this consideration are DuPont, Conchologists of America, American Museum of Natural History, and Smithsonian.

National Scientific Trophies:

COA: Sponsored by the Conchologists of America. The COA Award is given to a single **scientific exhibit** which best advances the interest in shells and shell collecting. It may only be given to a first-place winner. It cannot be given to an exhibit which has previously won a COA Award, at any show, unless fifty percent or more of the contents and format has been changed or added. (For more criteria, see the Guidelines for the COA Award).

du Pont Trophy Award: Sponsored for nearly 50 years by the Delaware Museum of Nature and Science. This award honors exception citizen scientists having a passion for shells, shell collecting, and the natural history of mollusks. It is given to a first-place winner for the "overall outstanding exhibit" of the Sea Shell Searchers Shell Show.

Scientific Trophies:

Mildred Tate Gulf of Mexico: Sponsored by the Brazosport Museum of Natural Science. To be awarded to a first place winner for the outstanding **shell or exhibit** of shells collected from the Gulf of Mexico or along the shores of the Gulf States or Mexico.

Thomas E. Pulley Texas In Honor of Tina Petway. Sponsored by the Houston Conchology Society. To be presented for an outstanding **Texas shell or exhibit.**

Clara Lucille Green Memorial Award for One Minor Family: Sponsored by Linda and Dave Green. To be awarded to the best scientific single-family exhibit, in the opinion of the judges, to the entry which best represents the mollusks of **one minor family**. This excludes Muricidae, Cypraeidae, Conidae, Volutidae, and Pectinidae. All other families will be eligible for this award.

Scientific Exhibit under 10 feet: Sponsored by Linda and Dave Green and given to an exhibitor for an exhibit that the total length of exhibit **does not exceed 10 feet**.

Shell of the Show – self-collected: Sponsored by a Sea Shell Searcher club member. Self-collected shells must be labeled as such to be considered.

Shell of the Show – any source: Sponsored by Collene Costello. The shells in this exhibit can be for any source.

Educational: Sponsored by Lucy and Jerry Clampit for the best educational scientific exhibit (categories 1-12)

Additional Trophies:

Dean Harris Beachcomber: Sponsored by Patty Humbird and presented to the **best beachcomber** item in any category.

Junior: Sponsored by Steven and Wanda Coker and presented to an exhibitor in the 12th grade or younger (not limited to category 13).

Jo Tirrell Memorial Trophy: Sponsored by Tina Petway for the best **shell art or shell craft** exhibit in categories 14 & 15.

People's Choice: Sponsored by the SeaShell Searchers, this award will be chosen by popular vote and given on Friday and Saturday.